Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Liquid Lights, Lanterns and Safety Lights
#1
Safety Lights

Must be diffused red, these are primarily hand-held flashlights.  These lights are considered to be OOG when used.
These lights cannot be used to aid IG discovery. These should be aimed at the ground so as not to ruin other people's nightvision.


Stationary Lights
Lights in this category include things like Candles, Fixed Lanterns as well as any light source that isn’t removed from a camp it is placed in, do not require tags or Alchemical Lights.


Carried Lanterns
If you want to carry a lantern or light with you to multiple places as an IG light-source, you must have an Alchemical Light tag attached to it.


Alchemical Light (Liquid Light)
The Alchemical Light alchemy allows any a green Cyalume light stick (Glowstick), to be used In-Game. 

This light behaves in all respects like the spell Illumination with the exception that it cannot be dispelled via Dispel Magic. Liquid lights can be combined to produce a greater effect. 

Combining three Alchemical Light alchemies will allow the use of a non-LED flashlight. Flashlights used in this manner must always be pointed own towards the ground. 

The use of five Alchemical Light alchemies will allow the use of one non-LED, non-flame lantern

Glowsticks, flashlights and lanterns may be turned on and off as the user desires for the duration of the alchemy.



Notes on Lanterns 
Lanterns must be: 
- Free of any open flame. 
- Diffused so that they don't ruin night vision. 
- Look period 

There are many available battery powered light sources that meet these criteria. As long as the light source is not anachronistic and fits the period-look, and it is not an open flame, it will be allowed. While the above restrictions pertain primarily to OOG concerns, there are also some IG restrictions to keep in mind.
Owner - Tavernkeep - Forums Admin - Cat Herder
Email: ivanna@underworldralinwood.ca
Reply
#2
(08-15-2017, 08:43 PM)Ivanna Wrote: Safety Lights:


[u]Carried Lanterns

If you want to carry a lantern or light with you to multiple places as an IG light-source, you must have an Alchemical Light tag attached to it.

Would you want the tag from the illumination spell attached to the lantern?

______________________
Ostrozne Ghul Zjadacz
Retired Knight of the Blood Red Rose
Battle Priest of Roland
Reply
#3
What about those who have an actual "Lantern" tag, where would they fall in these guidelines.
Epic NPC Man!! -guitar riff-
Reply
#4
Lamalas Wrote:What about those who have an actual "Lantern" tag, where would they fall in these guidelines.


They would need liquid lights to fill the lantern with after its contents burn out which at most would have been one month's worth. So if it was a new tag from last month it would be empty now. The effect of the light existing is from the liquid lights and not the item tag.
Piece of garbage fire looking Einher.
Reply
#5
So if I am clear on the rules so far and please correct me if I am wrong

1 Alchemical Light tag = Green Glow stick
3 Alchemical Light tags = Flashlight (pointed at the ground)
5 Alchemical Light tags = Non-Flame Lantern

If you have a Lantern Tag, you only need 1 Alchemical Light tag or still need 5? If 5, what is the point of having a Lantern tag?
Epic NPC Man!! -guitar riff-
Reply
#6
5.

It's a tag worth in-game money. Like the sweetroll tag I have.
Piece of garbage fire looking Einher.
Reply
#7
(08-15-2017, 10:33 PM)Ostrozne Wrote:
(08-15-2017, 08:43 PM)Ivanna Wrote: Safety Lights:


[u]Carried Lanterns

If you want to carry a lantern or light with you to multiple places as an IG light-source, you must have an Alchemical Light tag attached to it.

[/u]


Would you want the tag from the illumination spell attached to the lantern?


That would be helpful, yes please do.
Owner - Tavernkeep - Forums Admin - Cat Herder
Email: ivanna@underworldralinwood.ca
Reply
#8
(08-16-2017, 01:43 PM)Brent Wrote: 5.

It's a tag worth in-game money. Like the sweetroll tag I have.

It's like getting a "picnic basket" tag.

You still have to fill it with items, it doesn't come with food.
Owner - Tavernkeep - Forums Admin - Cat Herder
Email: ivanna@underworldralinwood.ca
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)