The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] is_dir(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/english) is not within the allowed path(s): (/var/www/vhosts/underworldralinwood.ca/:/tmp/) - Line: 441 - File: global.php PHP 7.4.33 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
[PHP] errorHandler->error_callback
/global.php 441 is_dir
/showthread.php 28 require_once




Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 2 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rules Clarification: Cloak of Moonlight and Body Effects
#1
Cloak of Moonlight *
Incant: "I invoke Nature to grant Cloak of Moonlight."
Duration: 5 Days or until used.
Description: This spell envelops the target in an invisible cloak of Magical Body Points, providing an additional 6 Body Points. For all intents and purposes, these Body Points behave entirely like real Body Points except for the fact that they can be dispelled. Once they are gone, they cannot be healed and the spell ends. There are no flashes or any other perceptual indications that a Cloak of Moonlight is present in combat. Such cloaks count as Body when the recipient is struck by effects that bypass amour .

Additionally, a Cloak of Moonlight may be intentionally used-up in order to heal a target victim (as per Healing Magic). The Cloak will heal an amount in Body Points equal to how many points remain within the cloak. The Cloak may not be partially used in this manner, it is all or nothing. Once the Cloak has been used to heal someone the spell is terminated and the Cloak is gone.

The incant to transfer a Cloak of Moonlight is “Transfer Cloak of Moonlight” and may only be touch-cast. Only 1 Cloak of Moonlight may be worn at any given time. Furthermore, only someone who has the Nature Sphere may actually wear a Cloak of Moonlight, though any creature may be the recipient of its healing power.


Using the emboldened part of the description below, combined with the discussion found here:
http://www.underworldlarp.ca/mybb/showth...p?tid=5669

It appears to be the case that all body effects apply if they hit temporary body. This would apply to people who were for example dismembered on Saturday!
"An Orc wearing chain with short hair, carries a spear, slower.

OOG: Elias Tragas
2014 Rulebook Editor,
New Player Liaison
Email: Etragas@hotmail.com
Reply
#2
I agree with this. Damage to your temporary body points, is still damage to your body points. You would still take the effect of the skill (hamstring, dismember, etc).

Were people not taking the effects of Dismembers while wearing a cloak of moonlight?

Thanks Elias for posting this.
- The All Seeing Eye -
- Backstory Wizard -


Backstory Email: backstories@underworldralinwood.ca
Personal Email: sierra@underworldralinwood.ca
Reply
#3
But that means you can never Heal the hamstring because those body points are temporary.

Pre-requisite: Occupation at 3rd Level
An occupational ability for Mercenaries, this skill allows the Mercenary to injure the target’s leg and hamper their movement. To activate this skill the Mercenary must successfully strike the targets leg with a weapon and call out “3 Body Hamstring.” If
the hit is successful, the target will take 3 Body damage and temporary loses mobility in the injured leg, slowing their movement to 1 step every 3 seconds.This skill may be stacked if purchased more than once, allowing the damage to increase for each time it is used. For example, if Hamstring is purchased 3 times all three may be used simultaneously to create a “9 Body Hamstring” attack. Lastly, specific damage types may be called such as “silver” or “magic” based on the weapon used to hamstring. This makes walking slow and running impossible. This effect will last until the target receives at least 3 Body points worth of healing. This skill is usable once per day, per purchase.


You need 3 points of healing but your not actually hurt. In the case of Cloak of Moonlight you are still Above your maximum Body points...
Reply
#4
Yea it was actually my fault, I brought it up and the person running the mod told me to go with what I thought was right. I leaned towards not taking the effect due to some past discussions on seal armor. But when I checked the book it's made very explicit that the body is just like normal body, as opposed to a shield on top of body. I just wanted to post it so that people wouldn't be confused in the future.
Praise the rulebook
Praise Cassan
"An Orc wearing chain with short hair, carries a spear, slower.

OOG: Elias Tragas
2014 Rulebook Editor,
New Player Liaison
Email: Etragas@hotmail.com
Reply
#5
(10-29-2014, 02:08 PM)Balthasar Wrote: But that means you can never Heal the hamstring because those body points are temporary.

You need 3 points of healing but your not actually hurt. In the case of Cloak of Moonlight you are still Above your maximum Body points...

In the Jericho discussion the Shapers and Owner states that "You need 3 Body worth of healing to remove the effect. even though it won't raise the current amount of body you have, you can still receive healing."

You can always receive healing, weather or not it raises your body points is another question. The Hamstring skill states that the target must receive 3 points of healing to be cured, it does not state that your body points have to increase with that healing.
- The All Seeing Eye -
- Backstory Wizard -


Backstory Email: backstories@underworldralinwood.ca
Personal Email: sierra@underworldralinwood.ca
Reply
#6
So my question is then Can I transfer cloak of moonlight to myself to recieve three more points of healing and then have it sit on my spirit because I have the nature school?
Reply
#7
(10-30-2014, 07:56 AM)Sierra Katrian Wrote: In the Jericho discussion the Shapers and Owner states that "You need 3 Body worth of healing to remove the effect. even though it won't raise the current amount of body you have, you can still receive healing."

You can always receive healing, weather or not it raises your body points is another question. The Hamstring skill states that the target must receive 3 points of healing to be cured, it does not state that your body points have to increase with that healing.

This.

And Nick, if you're not already wearing a cloak of moonlight then yes, you can apply one to yourself to heal the 3 points of damage. If you are wearing one then you can't because you can only wear one at any given time.
Reply
#8
(10-26-2014, 08:07 PM)Zshlwre Wrote: Cloak of Moonlight *
Additionally, a Cloak of Moonlight may be intentionally used-up in order to heal a target victim (as per Healing Magic). The Cloak will heal an amount in Body Points equal to how many points remain within the cloak. The Cloak may not be partially used in this manner, it is all or nothing. Once the Cloak has been used to heal someone the spell is terminated and the Cloak is gone.

Transferring the cloak terminates it regardless of the recipient having the nature sphere. If the Cloak was full when you took the hamstring, then you could transfer the cloak to heal yourself and fix the hamstring, but it would then be used up.
AKA - "Donovan Moonfist"
Short human with short dark hair. Wears black studded leather vest and a brown studded leather helmet. Usually wielding a club with a dagger at his belt. Better looking than Ludvic.

OOG: Todd (Jenner)
Reply
#9
^^ What Jenner(Todd) said.
- The All Seeing Eye -
- Backstory Wizard -


Backstory Email: backstories@underworldralinwood.ca
Personal Email: sierra@underworldralinwood.ca
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)